The task

Welcome Back

On the occasion of Porsche’s return as a competitor at the 24 Hours of Le Mans, the aim was to activate a broad target group interested in motorsports (potential new customers and long-standing motorsport fans) for the long-distance race and for AUDI’s commitment.

The idea

Welcome back Porsche

From Ingolstadt to Zuffenhausen – the Audi R18 e-tron quattro on a very special mission.

On its way, the LMP1 drives along idyllic country roads and passes animals and tractors. The endurance race car and winner of the 24 Hours of Le Mans, of course, makes quite an impression and attracts a lot of attention.

The grand finale at the gates of the challenger: the Audi R18 e-tron quattro has an unmistakeable message for the new rival burning it into the tarmac.

The realisation

2 days of filming and uncountable hours of animation

The film was a short-term project which left us with not even four weeks from initial idea to final delivery. The greatest challenge was to find public roads, which, on the one hand, suited our visual concept, and, on the other hand, could be easily blocked thus providing a certain degree of production reliability.

On two days of filming in and around Ingolstadt, we staged the entire journey – without having been to Stuttgart once. For that purpose, we had hired the animation experts of LIGA01, because the combination of actually filmed, individual elements and comprehensive animations made up the final scene in front of the Porsche headquarters.

The result

More than four million clicks on Youtube alone

The film was published on all internal Audi online channels as well as on YouTube. After two weeks already, the short film broke all records and was viewed over four million times.

According to the Viral Video Charts, “Welcome back“ was – over a longer period of time – the most shared and most viewed online spot in Germany alone. In the US, Denmark and other countries, the film was also placed as a TV spot.

Die Aufgabe

Welcome Back

Anlässlich der Rückkehr von Herausforderer Porsche bei den 24 Stunden von Le Mans sollte eine breite, motorsport-interessierten Zielgruppe (potenzielle Neukunden und eingefleischte Motorsportfans) für das Langstreckenrennen und das Engagement der AUDI AG aktiviert werden.

Die Idee

Welcome back Porsche

Von Ingolstadt nach Zuffenhausen – der Audi R18 e-tron quattro auf einer ganz besonderen Mission.

Der Weg führt den LMP1-Hybriden über idyllische Landstraßen, vorbei an Tieren und Traktoren. Dabei sorgt der Lang-streckenrennwagen und Sieger der 24h von Le Mans dabei natürlich für große Augen und viel Aufmerksamkeit.

Vor den Toren des Herausforderer kommt es zum großen Finale – und der Audi R18 e-tron quattro brennt eine unmiss-verständliche Botschaft an den neuen Konkurrenten in den Asphalt.

Die Umsetzung

2 Drehtage und unzählige Stunden Animation

Der Film war ein sehr kurzfristiges Projekt, und so hatten wir von der ersten Idee bis hin zur finalen Auslieferung kaum noch vier Wochen. Die größte Herausforderung war dabei, öffentliche Straßen zu finden, die einerseits in unser visuelles Konzept passen mussten, andererseits aber auch einfach zu sperren waren und eine gewisse Produktionssicherheit boten.

An zwei Drehtagen in und um Ingolstadt herum haben wir die gesamte Reise inszeniert – ohne dabei einmal in Stuttgart gewesen zu sein. Dafür hatten wir die Animationsprofis von LIGA01 an Bord: Denn aus der Kombination von real gedrehten Einzelelementen und aufwändigen Animationen entstand so die Schlussszene vor der Porsche Konzernzentrale.

Das Ergebnis

Mehr als vier Millionen Klick allein auf YouTube

Der Film wurde auf allen Audi-internen Online-Kanälen sowie auf YouTube eingesetzt. Bereits nach zwei Wochen knackte der Kurzfilm alle Rekorde und wurde mehr als vier Millionen Mal angeschaut.

Laut den Viral Video Charts war „Welcome back“ über einen längeren Zeitraum der meistgeteilte und meistgesehene Online-Spot allein in Deutschland. In den USA, Dänemark und weiteren Ländern wurde der Film auch als TV-Spot eingesetzt.