The task

100 percent viral

Everybody knows the problem: on holidays, we normally want to relax but we end up – often in vain, though – looking for a free Wi-Fi connection to stay in touch with the outside world. This can actually become quite stressful….

In order to end this dilemma and ensure a carefree holiday for their customers, Deutsche Telekom AG has introduced the “Travel & Surf“ package. This tariff – available in over 100 countries – was promoted through a very special online campaign. In several episodes, the story of the “Wi-Fi quest” was told in a humorous fashion, aiming at a viral distribution.

The idea

Humorous search for a Wi-Fi connection

Jose does not need a business plan. Jose is an out-and-out businessman who knows: everyone needs Wi-Fi and everyone loves dogs. So, with the help of his assistant, he trains numerous “Wi-Fi dogs” in order to give holidaymakers what they want: free Wi-Fi.

This mockumentary portrays the quest for a Wi-Fi connection from different points of view and in an exaggerated, extremely funny manner. Sometimes the dogs cannot find a connection or they just go off on their own. But the two selfmade-businessmen keep their cool. They firmly believe in their idea.

The realisation

An international formula for success

What looks like great fun was in fact really hard work on all fronts. In cooperation with DDB Spain, a variety of clips were produced – seamlessly fitting into the campaign. All the episodes were shot in the vicinity of Barcelona with the help of an international production team – including ourselves. Randy Krallman, director of the team, succeeded in creating an authentically amiable narrative style making this campaign truly special.

The result

Over two million views and award-winning

The concept was a success. The feature film alone has been viewed 1.5 million times via the clients’ social media channels. In addition, there were the viewers of the episodes.

But it was not only our client that was delighted about the successful number of clicks. We ourselves as well, as the production company, had every reason to be overjoyed. Our campaign won three prizes at three outstanding film awards: the LIA-Award in bronze for production and post-production, the Cannes Cyber Lion in bronze and the golden Eurobest Trophy.

Die Aufgabe

100 Prozent Viralität

Jeder kennt das Problem: Im Urlaub will man entspannen, sucht dann aber doch oft vergeblich nach einer freien W-LAN-Verbindung, um Kontakt zur Außenwelt zu halten. Das kann schon mal in Stress ausarten…

Die Deutsche Telekom AG hat sich daher mit ihrem „Travel & Surf“ Paket zur Aufgabe gemacht, diesem Problem ein Ende zu bereiten und seinen Kunden einen sorgenfreien Urlaub zu ermöglichen. Um diesen Tarif, der in über 100 Ländern angeboten wurde, via Internet publik zu machen, wurde eine ganz besondere virale Kampagne entwickelt, die das Problem „W-LAN-Suche“ auf humorvolle Weise in mehreren Episoden erzählt. Das Ziel war eine virale Verbreitung.

Die Idee

Humorvolle Suche nach dem W-LAN

Jose braucht keinen Businessplan. Jose ist ein Unternehmer durch und durch. Er weiß: Jeder will Wi-Fi. Und jeder liebt Hunde. Also trainiert er mithilfe seines Assistenten zahlreiche Hunde, um Sie zu „Wi-Fi dogs“ auszubilden, die den Urlaubern das geben, was sie wollen – nämlich freies W-LAN.

In dieser Mockumentary wird die Jagd nach dem nächsten freien W-LAN überspitzt und extrem lustig dargestellt und aus mehreren Blickwinkeln erzählt: Mal finden die Hunde kein Netz oder aber sie machen sich selbstständig. Doch die beiden Selfmade-Unternehmer bringt nichts aus der Ruhe. Sie glauben fest an ihre Idee.

Die Umsetzung

Ein internationales Erfolgsrezept

Was nach tierischem Spaß aussieht, war ein hartes Stück Arbeit an allen Fronten. In Zusammenarbeit mit DDB Spain entstanden unterschiedliche Clips, die sich alle nahtlos in die Kampagne einfügen. Alle Episoden sind mithilfe eines internationalen Produktionsteams – unter anderem bestehend aus uns – in der Nähe von Barcelona gedreht worden. Regisseur Randy Krallman gelang ein authentisch-liebenswerter Erzählstil, der die Kampagne zu etwas ganz Besonderem macht.

Das Ergebnis

Über zwei Millionen Views und preisgekrönt

Das Konzept ist voll aufgegangen. Allein den Hauptfilm haben über 1,5 Millionen Menschen in den Social Media Kanälen des Kunden aufgerufen. Weitere Viewer kamen über die Episoden hinzu. Aber nicht nur der Kunde freute sich über erfolgreiche Klickzahlen, auch wir als Produktionsfirma durften jubeln. Die Kampagne sammelte gleich bei drei großen Filmpreisen Trophäen ein: Den LIA-Award in Bronze für Produktion und Postproduktion, den Cannes Cyber Lion in Bronze und die goldene Eurobest Trophäe!